Mixtape of the Month

Mpmania Mix 39

Mpmania Mix 39

Johnny Drille – “Before We Fall Asleep” [Album – Audio]

Johnny Drille unleashes his debut album, “Before We Fall Asleep” for His fans, Stream, buy, mp3 download.

Johnny Drille Before We Fall Asleep

Johnny Drille Before We Fall Asleep

With this debut album titled “Before We Fall Asleep”, Johnny Drille is looking to take his music to hearts across the world.

In his words; “Hey family! Very excited my first ever album is finally out. There is something in there for everyone. I put my everything into this project for YOU“.

Born John Ighodaro, buoyed by a special voice and big dreams, the singer’s humble roots in the church choir led him to compete in the sixth season of Project Fame West Africa in 2013. In 2015, he recorded a cover of “Awww” by Mavin artiste, Di’Ja which caught the attention of legendary producer and Mavin head honcho, Don Jazzy. In 2015, Johnny Drille released his debut single, the Headies-nominated “Wait For Me” and was signed to Mavin Records in 2017.

His army of devoted followers is as loyal as you will find anywhere. It’s easy to see why; Beyond his rare connection with his fans, Johnny is a man of many talents – an award-winning producer, writer and sound designer. He’s also a gifted performer; the best evidence – two sold-out editions of his tour series, “Johnny’s Room Live” and multiple performances around Africa and Europe.

Songs like “Papa” and “Wait For Me” are cult favourites, while “Count on You” and “Halleluyah” have amassed millions of streams. There’s also a growing demand for Johnny Drille around the continent, shown by tens of thousands of online followers and marquee shows in Ghana, Kenya and Rwanda.

In 2020, Johnny Drille hinted at a new, more risque direction with the release of the retro-inspired “Something Better”.

Today September 3, 2021, JD drops his debut album with the title ‘Before We Fall Asleep’. This album consist of 14 tracks and Features; Don Jazzy, Styl-Plus, LADIPOE, Ayra Starr, Chylde, Lagos Community Choir, Kwittee & Cillsoul.

Johnny Drille Before We Fall Asleep Tracklist

Johnny Drille Before We Fall Asleep Tracklist

Anchored by impeccable songwriting across sound beds replete with traditional, neo-classical and alté inflections, Before We Fall Asleep is an absorbing excursion into Johnny Drille’s richly textured cosmos. Traversing multiple sonic worlds, the Afro-R&B “Ludo” gels with the Afropop of “Ova”, while the pensive acoustics of “BEFORE I LET GO” precede the collision of hip-hop undertones on “Lost In The Rhythm” and the ambient pop of “CLOCKS”.

Johnny Drille – “Before We Fall Asleep”


1. Johnny Drille – MY KIND OF BROWN
2. Johnny Drille – loving is harder
3. Johnny Drille – ludo
4. Johnny Drille – ova (ft. Don Jazzy)
5. Johnny Drille – odo (ft. Styl-Plus)
6. Johnny Drille – driving in the rain (ft. LADIPOE)
7. Johnny Drille – BEFORE I LET GO
8. Johnny Drille – in the light (ft. Ayra Starr)
9. Johnny Drille – CLOCKS (ft. Chylde)
10. Johnny Drille – LIES (To Whom It May Concern)
11. Johnny Drille – lost in the rhythm
12. Johnny Drille – SWEET AS A MOTHER’S LOVE
13. Johnny Drille – SISTER (ft. Lagos Community Gospel Choir, Kwittee & Cillsoul)
14. Johnny Drille – sell my soul

Written By

7shades of Weirdness! Media & Tech - Digital Creative...

View All Articles
Leave a Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *