Prof. Attahiru Jega Sets to Leave Office Next Week Tuesday

jega“The tenure of Professor as chairman of Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) will end next .

According to INEC Bulletin, Jega will with six other national commissioners who will also have served out their five year term.

Jega and the commissioners were inaugurated by former President Goodluck E. Jonathan on 30th June 2010.

The commissioners affected are: Col. M.K. Hammanga (Rtd), Adamawa state, (North East); Dr Ishmael Jikiri Igbani, Rivers state, (South South); . Lai Olurode, Osun state, (South West); Dame Gladys Nne Nwafor, Abia state, (South East); Mrs Thelma Amata Iremiren, Delta state, (South South); and Engr. Dr. Nuru A. Yakubu, Yobe state, (North East).

Four other National Commissioners are to leave the Commission in July and August this year.

They are: Dr. Abdulkadir S. Oniyangi, Kwara state, (North Central), whose tenure will expire on 21st July 2015; Mrs Amina Bala Zakari, Jigawa state, (North West); whose tenure will also expire on 21st July 2015; Dr Chris O. Iyimoga, Nasarawa state, (North Central); whose tenure will expire on 11th August 2015; and Amb. (Dr.) Mohammed Ahmad Wali, Sokoto state, (North West) whose tenure will also expire on 11th August 2015.

The bulletin has however said stated that activities at the commission would not in anyway be affected by the exit of Jega and the other national commissioners.”

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More