Abiola Ajimobi Loses Senatorial Election to PDP’s Kola Balogun

The Oyo State Governor and candidate of the All Progressives Congress in Oyo South Senatorial District has been trumped in the Saturday poll by Dr of Peoples Democratic Party.

Balogun scored 105,720 votes to trump Ajimobi, who recorded 92,579 votes. The PDP candidate won with a margin of 13,141. The African Democratic Party candidate, Senator Soji Akanbi, came third with 49,437 votes.

The PDP candidate cleared Ibadan North, Ibadan North-West, Ibadan South-East, Ibadan North-East, Ibarapa North and Ibarapa East and while Ajimobi won in Ibarapa Central, Ibadan South-West and Ido local government areas.

Announcing the result on Monday after about 15 hours of collation at Ibadan North Secretariat, the Returning Officer, Prof Kolawole Akinsola of the University of Ibadan, declared Balogun winner of the poll amidst fully armed security operatives on the premises.


You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More