Fomer Finance Minister & Other PDP Leaders Defect to APC

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Minister of state for Finance Yerima Ngama
Minister of state for Finance Yerima Ngama

Hours to the conduct of governorship and states House of Assembly elections, some People Democratic Party politicians in Yobe State have dumped their party for the state’s ruling All Progressives Congress.

Leading the team of the PDP defectors was the former minister of State, Finance, Yerima Ngama, who announced his defection through his political aide, Aliyu Jajare.

Mr. Ngama contested the governorship of Yobe State on the platform of the PDP but got his ambition truncated at the primary where he was defeated by Adamu Waziri, the current candidate of the PDP.

Mr. Ngama, who later settled for a Senatorial t!cket, was again defeated by incumbent Senator, Ahmed Lawan of APC at the last senatorial election.

On Friday, he called on his supporters at the PDP to vote against the party.

He called on all his supporters to “come out in large numbers and ensure the APC emerges victorious in tomorrow’s polls”.

Also defecting alongside the ex-minister was a one-time senator from Yobe Zone-A, Jalo Zarami; a former commissioner in old Borno State, Lawan Lantawa.

The defectors called on the people to vote for the APC in the Saturday election.

The National Secretary of the APC, Mai Mala Buni, said the decampees had “made the right decision to join to the APC”.

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More